Probate Courts appoint conservators to oversee the finances and/or personal care of adults who are unable to manage their own affairs. Publications outlining the duties of conservators are posted below.
Resources for Conservators
The Connecticut Standards of Practice for Conservators outlines the duties of a conservator, ethical principles and key considerations for decision-making. State law requires conservators to adhere to the Standards of Practice. The document is available below:
A self-study training program for conservators is available to provide an in-depth overview of the responsibilities of a conservator. The self-study format enables a conservator to view the program when convenient and from any location. All new conservators are strongly encouraged to complete the training program within 30 days of appointment.
There are two courses available: One for family conservators, who are relatives or friends who have volunteered to care for someone. The second is designed for professional conservators, who are attorneys, social workers or others who serve as conservator for multiple individuals. All conservators are strongly encouraged to take the applicable course.
Each course takes approximately 3 hours to complete and can be taken in installments that suit the conservator’s schedule. The course is eligible for continuing education credits for attorneys. Follow the link below to sign up for the course. Registration with a username and password is required.
If you prefer to take the course on a mobile device, please first sign up through the sabacloud website. Once you have signed up please download the free Saba Cloud app and type in "scjb-probate" when prompted to enter a "site".
Please contact Probate Court Administration if you have any questions.
Many conservators serve without compensation. In more complex cases and cases in which no family member is available to serve, the conservator may be paid from the income and assets of the conserved person. If the conserved person is indigent, the conservator is paid from the Probate Court Administration Fund.
The fee schedule for conservators serving indigent individuals is located below. The fee schedule contains instructions on how to submit the invoice. Assign a unique invoice number to each invoice and submit the invoice to the Probate Court within six months from the date services are rendered. Services provided outside of the six-month window will not be paid.
If you wish to be a conservator for indigent clients in the Probate Courts, please complete and return two forms to Probate Court Administration: the State of Connecticut Agency Vendor Form (SP-26NB) and the W-9 (see below). They are also available at www.das.state.ct.us Vendor Profile Form SP-26NB. The tax identification number, business entity, name and address must match on all forms for you to be set up in the accounts payable system.
Please mail these forms to the Office of the Probate Court Administrator.
For answers to frequently asked questions, please click here: FAQs about Conservator Compensation
The Comptroller’s Office offers Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) of payments and a Vendor Self-Service website for accounts payable information. Conservators who would like to participate in these services should send the ETF form and a copy of the W-9 to the address at the top of the EFT form. The forms are located below.
Contract Conservator Program
The Contract Conservator Program is an alternative compensation system for conservators serving indigent persons.
Click here for more informationPlease contact Probate Court Administration if you have any questions.