

# Regular Meeting of the **Public Information Committee**February 10, 2023

Office of the Probate Court Administrator 186 Newington Rd. West Hartford, CT 06110

# **Minutes**

A meeting of the Connecticut Probate Assembly Public Information Committee was held at the Office of the Probate Court Administrator on February 10, 2023 at 2:00 p.m.

In attendance were: Judges Berkenstock, Deneen, Wexler, Brandt, DeMoura, Labonte and Probate Court Administrator Beverly Streit-Kefalas.

#### 1. Call to Order:

Judge Wexler call the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m.

Judge Wexler discussed the mission of the committee and Judge Streit-Kefalas informed the committee members that the Public Information Committee is a standing committee of the Probate Assembly.

## 2. Approval of the minutes:

A motion to approve the minutes of February 22, 2022 was made by Judge DeMoura and seconded by Judge Brandt and approved.

### 3. Old Business:

Probate Court Administration has ordered about 6000 pamphlets for public distribution. We also have 5 or 6 sets of panels which are available for use when we are at public events.

#### 4. New Business:

- The committee members discussed our vision for the committee. Each member shared why they joined the committee.
- We discussed looking to local newspapers to publish Judge-written articles.
- Judge Wexler led a discussion regarding sending a letter to all of the Judges recommending they engage in community involvement. The letter might include

letting the Judges know that there are pamphlets and display panels available for their use.

• Lastly, the Committee discussed the meeting schedule for the remainder of the year. The next meeting is set for March 24 at 1:30 p.m. There is a meeting tentatively scheduled for May 5<sup>th</sup>, no meeting in August and will meet again on October 6<sup>th</sup> and December 1<sup>st</sup> all at 1:30 p.m.

At 3:34 p.m., Judge Wexler made a motion to adjourn and seconded by Judge Brandt. The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Hon. Gabrielle Labonte Committee Member