

CONNECTICUT PROBATE ASSEMBLY

Meeting of the Continuing Education Committee

Wednesday, February 15, 2023

MINUTES

Present: Hon. Michael Brandt; Hon. Domenick Calabrese; Hon. Mark DeGennaro; Hon. Barbara Gardner Riordan; Hon. Jeannine Lewis; Attorneys Francesca Knerr and Evan Brunetti.

The meeting was conducted in person at the Office of the Probate Court Administrator, Library in West Hartford, CT and was called to order at 9:34 a.m.

Informal discussion included topics and potential topics for:

March Judges Institute:

- Case Law Update
- Ethical Pitfalls of Social Media
- Rule 71: Enforcement of Probate Court Orders
- Probate Researching
- Fastcase

June Seminar:

- Probate Council on Judicial Conduct
- Court Security
- Regulations 13-16 (fee waivers and e-billing)
- Long Term Care Ombudsman
- Attorney General's Office, Public Charities Unit

September Seminar:

- What Probate Courts need to know about Human Trafficking
- What Probate Courts need to know about Immigration Law including Special Immigrant Juvenile Status (SIJS)
- Attorney General's Office, Child Support Enforcement Unit
- Language Interpreters and Other Accommodations

October Judges Institute:

- Annual Legislative Update
- Potential discussion of jurisdiction, limited statutory authority and powers of Connecticut Probate Courts
- Potential discussion of Rule 35, Probate Bonds & Alternatives



CONNECTICUT PROBATE ASSEMBLY

Discussion of the November Joint CBA/Probate Assembly Program: to be held at the Aqua Turf. Committee members Calabrese, Gardener Riorden, and Lewis volunteered to be part of the planning subcommittee along with Attorney Brunetti.

The next meeting of the Continuing Education Committee will be held in-person on April 26, 2023 at 9:30 a.m. at the Office of the Probate Court Administrator, Library. The meeting schedule for the rest of 2023 is as follows: June 28, August 16, October 18, and December 20. All meetings will be held at 9:30 a.m. at the Office of the Probate Court Administrator, Library.

The meeting was adjourned by consensus of all members at 10:39 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Hon. Jeannine Lewis Committee Chair