

CONNECTICUT PROBATE ASSEMBLY

ETHICS COMMITTEE MINUTES FROM MEETING MARCH 23, 2023

9:30 a.m.

In attendance: Judges Bartlett, Brandt, Darby, Gardner-Riordan, Hoyle, Landgrebe and Probate Court Administrator Streit-Kefalas

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 9:42 a.m.

2. Approval of minutes of the November 3, 2021 meeting

Judge Darby made a motion to approve the minutes. Judge Gardner-Riordan seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.

3. Discuss and review of Code of Probate Judicial Conduct

Judge Brandt provided copies of the Code of Probate Judicial Conduct to the judges. The judges discussed the Code of Probate Judicial Conduct. The most recent amendment to the Code was approved by the Committee at the November 3, 2021 meeting and by the Probate Assembly in January 2022. Comment 5 to Rule 3.1 and Comment 3 to Rule 4.1 (applicable also to judicial candidates) have been incorporated into the Code.

4. Ethics opinions and resources

Judge Darby initiated a conversation about the recent Council decisions of public admonishment. The judges discussed concerns related to the decisions. The Committee agreed to review the recent decisions and provide some guidance to the Assembly. The Council is scheduled to present to the Assembly at the June Continuing Education Seminar and is currently preparing the materials. Judge Streit-Kefalas suggest that the Committee members sign-up for the National Center for State Courts ethics newsletter and review recent ethical decisions.

The Committee plans to provide updates and interesting ethic opinions via periodic email messages to the Probate Assembly.

5. New Business

No additional business was discussed.

6. Meeting Schedule

The Committee agreed that Thursday at 9:30 a.m. would work as a meeting time as long as there was sufficient notice. Judge Brandt will coordinate a date in June, September and December with PCA and get notice posted for the meetings for the rest of the year.

7. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael R. Brandt

Committee Chair