

CONNECTICUT PROBATE ASSEMBLY

ANNUAL MEETING April 19, 2023

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Judge Evelyn Daly at 11:10 a.m.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Judge Michael Darby lead the Assembly in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll call of the Judges

45 Judges were present at the Supreme Court for the meeting. In addition, Probate Court Administrator Judge Streit-Kefalas, Attorneys Heather Dostaler, Evan Brunetti and Eric Rothauser. Judge Daly recognized others in attendance: Chief Justice Richard A. Robinson, retired Chief Court Administrator Judge Patrick L. Carroll III and Chief Court Administrator Judge Elizabeth A. Bozzuto.

3. Remarks of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

Judge Daly introduced Chief Justice Robinson who shared his remarks with the Assembly. He spoke to the Assembly of the positive experiences he has observed and had in interacting with clerks and judges of the probate courts.

4. Approval of the January 26, 2023 Meeting Minutes

Judge Michael Brandt moved and Judge Joseph DaSilva seconded a motion to approve the minutes as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Treasurer's Report and Proposed Budget for Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 2024

Judge Robert Randich presented the Treasurer's Report for the third quarter of the fiscal year ending 6/30/2023 showing a few expenses for the March Judges Institute and the Chief Clerks Seminar. Judge Joseph Marino moved and Judge Peter Barrett seconded a motion to approve the Treasurer's Report as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

Judge Randich presented the proposed Probate Assembly Annual Budget for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024. He indicated that this budget is the same as previous years at \$35,000. Judge Marino moved and Judge Mark DeGennaro seconded the motion to approve the proposed budget as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

6. Committee Reports

Continuing Education

Judge Jeannine Lewis delivered a report detailing the purpose of the committee. She indicated that the next committee meeting is on April 26, 2023 at 9:30 a.m. in the PCA library.

Ethics

Judge Brandt, the new chair of the committee thanked retired Judge Michael Magistrali for his many years of leadership. He explained the purpose of the committee and reported that the next meeting will be held on June 21, 2023.

Legislative

Judge T.R. Rowe reported on several bills that the committee is watching for the Assembly. Judge Gerald Fox III reported that the Appropriations Committee presented its budget yesterday. He noted a few changes to the proposed Probate Court requests including a proposed suspension of the sweep. He thanked the staff at PCA for their work on the budget and asked the members to thank members of the Appropriations Committee for their support and to ask all legislators to support the Probate Court general fund requests. The session will end on June 7, 2023.

Procedures Review

Judge Jennifer Berkenstock explained the role of the committee. The committee continues to review and revise forms in response to changes in the law and other recommendations. The committee meets quarterly and the next meeting is June 5, 2023 at 9:00 a.m. in the PCA library.

Public Information

Judge Lisa Wexler explained the purpose of the committee. She indicated that the committee has lots of vitality and reminded Judges to keep in touch with their constituents. The next meeting is May 5 at 1:00 p.m. in the PCA library.

Court Security

Judge Dominick Calabrese explained the purpose of this ad hoc committee having been formed after the Sandy Hook school shooting. He encouraged all judges to perform security reviews and indicated the committee is available to assist courts. The next meeting is May 8, 2023 at 10:00 a.m. at PCA.

7. Elections

Judge Darby explained the purpose of the Nominating Committee. He indicated that the nominations were closed at the January Probate Assembly. He nominated the following judges for the 2023-2024 term:

OFFICERS:

Term: 2023 - 2024

- President-Judge HONORABLE EVELYN M. DALY
- First Vice President-Judge HONORABLE MICHAEL M. DARBY
- Second Vice President-Judge HONORABLE PETER C. BARRETT
- Executive Secretary HONORABLE ARIANA F. CENEVIVA
- Recording Secretary HONORABLE KATHLEEN N. MAXHAM
- Treasurer HONORABLE ROBERT A. RANDICH

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

Term: 2023-2026

- Hartford HONORABLE MATTHEW J. JALOWIEC
- Fairfield HONORABLE WILLIAM P. OSTERNDORF

• Windham HONORABLE JOHN J. MCGRATH, JR. BUDGET COMMITTEE:

Term: 2023-2025

HONORABLE FRED J. ANTHONY

The Assembly voted unanimously to elect those judges nominated. Thereafter Judge Daly administered the oath of office to the officers.

8. Presentation of Service Award to Clerks

Judge Foye Smith presented a 25-year service award to her chief clerk Monica Gonzalez of the Hartford Probate Court. Judge Calabrese presented a 25-year service award to his clerk Pamela Osborne of the Region #22 Probate Court. Judge Lewis presented a 25-year service award to her chief clerk Sharon Tiezzi of the Saybrook Probate Court.

9. Recognition of Retired Judges

Judge Daly with the assistance of Judge Darby recognized the following retired judges. Those present came forward and received a glass engraved clock:

Honorable David A. Baram, Tobacco Valley Honorable Cynthia C. Becker, Simsbury Regional Honorable Diane S. Blick, Litchfield Hills Honorable Michael Carrier, Berlin Honorable Clifton E. Graves, Jr., New Haven Honorable Marianne Lassman Fischer, Greater Windsor Honorable Michael F. Magistrali, Torrington Area Honorable Leah P. Schad, Northeast Honorable Frank J. Forgione, Branford-North Branford Honorable Peter E. Mariano, Naugatuck Honorable Dianne E. Yamin, Danbury Honorable Philip A. Wright, Jr., Wallingford Honorable Scott R. Chadwick, East Hartford

10. Presentation of the Glenn E. Knierim Pro Bono Award

Judge Daly gave the history of this Award and presented the award to Attorney Paul Bedard. Attorney Bedard delivered his thanks and remarks.

11. Presentation of the Daniel F. Caruso

Judge Streit-Kefalas detailed the history of this award and the background of the recipient and asked Judge Marino to present it to the honoree, Dr. Christine Shapter. Dr. Shapter delivered her thanks and remarks.

12. Remarks of the Probate Court Administrator

Judge Streit-Kefalas remarked that she was pleased that all were present in this facility for the annual meeting. She thanked Chief Justice Robinson for hosting the meeting and for his remarks and ongoing support of the Probate Court system. She thanked Judge Carroll for his past support, and Judge Bozzuto for her support and continuing partnership. She congratulated all newly elected members of the Executive Committee. She encouraged all judges to get involved and actively participate as members of the Probate Assembly. She spoke of access to our courts and fair and equitable treatment of all. She asked judges to listen and hear all parties represented or not and to treat all with civility.

She profusely thanked all PCA staff and expressed gratitude and pride for all 54 judges and court staff. She resolved to continue her work with the legislature and the Governor to enhance the lives of all residents of Connecticut.

13. Remarks of the President-Judge

Judge Daly remarked at the honor of meeting in the Supreme Court. She said that our Probate Courts are steeped in history and part of the rich judicial history of Connecticut. She spoke of the history of Probate Courts and the changes to its role over the years. She stated that our courts are unique, compassionate and an integral part of the fabric that is Connecticut.

14. Any business to come before the Assembly None

15. Adjourn

The Assembly adjourned at 12:14 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Hon. Kathleen N. Maxham Recording Secretary